top of page

Thanks For Giving

Happy Thanksgiving! With November at its end, we look toward Advent, the birth of Jesus, and the beginning of the New Year. It seems like the last month of the year seems to fly right by, doesn't it? That's why I wanted to take some time to talk about looking forward to our 2021 budget and intentionally budgeting in charitable giving.


At the beginning of the year, I stated that I budget 10% of my income for charitable giving. Truth be told, I had been calculating it based on after-tax income (after 401k contributions, health/dental/vision insurance, and HSA contributions). Throughout the year, I had thought about whether it should be pre-tax or post-tax. The conclusion that Camilla and I came to is that I should switch it to the pre-tax amount. That would increase my contributions from $300/month to over $500/month.


It is hard for me to stomach such a large jump, but it's what Camilla has already been doing, so I should follow suit. As I consider my current budget and where they money is going, I find it hard to see where we can move money around to make this happen. However, we have decided that our side hustles have been successful enough for us to give from those funds, and subsequently, any additional income we make will adjust the amount we give, too.


If I want to truly live my faith and put my money where my faith is, then I must do the difficult thing of letting go. I am also reminded that if we give generously, God will also give generously, as told in 2 Corinthians 9:6-8.


6 Consider this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. 7 Each must do as already determined, without sadness or compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 8 Moreover, God is able to make every grace abundant for you, so that in all things, always having all you need, you may have an abundance for every good work.


I hope that this little bit has given you a lot to think about as you look toward 2021. There is so much we can improve on when it comes to giving. We can give more of our time and talents to the church, couldn't we? We aren't perfect, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't try. That goes for most things in life, right?


Camilla and I would like to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving. We are truly thankful for our readers. There is a lot to be sour about in 2020 in the midst of this pandemic, but I am convinced that we if we focus on the good things in life, we can move forward with a positive attitude in all that we do, especially with 2021 on the horizon.


Thankfully,

Khang

bottom of page