top of page

How and Why, you ask?

In this world that is drowning in debt and an insatiable hunger for immediate gratification, how are we expected to be followers of Jesus and pursue Financial Independence?


The answer: Intentional Living. Easy, right?

There, you can stop reading now. See ya next month!

Just kidding. Please don't leave. I've got a lot to say!


If it were easy, everyone would do it. I'm sure you see plenty of folks who are drifting through life. Some are living with very little, others are spending like there is no tomorrow, and everything in between.


We are meant to do more than that. Here's how I see it: people of faith have an easier time grasping the concept of intentional living than our secular counterparts. Sometimes more, sometimes less, but on average, I think a little more. On the side of Christianity, we are often asked to deny ourselves during Lent by giving something up (and simultaneously giving back) for 40 days with hopes of being better people coming out of it. We are asked to give back often - we give our time, talent, and certainly our tithes. There are plenty of other religious communities who deliberately give up meals (fasting), taking time for prayer, and become more intentional about reflecting on their lives.


Well guess what? I'm asking you to take EVEN MORE time to be intentional every single day. Practically speaking, I'm asking you to be intentional with your life as many days as possible, but taking it one day at a time.


Intentional living in your everyday life goes a long way. It should dictate not only our spiritual lives, but our financial & personal philosophies as well. They go hand in hand, after all. Intentional living is the very foundation we should seek to strengthen every single day so we can be successful in our lives, no matter what we do. Whether we're looking at our health, careers, finances, families, or faith, we should be mindful of where we are, and where we want to be. To get us where we want to be, we have to know the reason WHY. If we now know HOW and we are passionate about our "WHY," Financial Independence will come naturally. Will it take time? Yes. Will we fall? Yes. Do I expect you to get back up and try again? Yes, and I'll help you each time.


For me, I want to live a more intentional life for the ones I love, for the present and the future. In the future, I hope to have a family and be healthy enough to do activities with them. I hope to be financially independent so I can be fully available to spend time with them. I want to look back and know that I've been responsible with my time and energy. I want to take back the time that is mine. I want the freedom to choose where my time and energy goes. That means possibly going from full-time work to part-time at age 45 and worrying less about money and enjoying more time with family. That is what the financial independence piece is for; it's a means to an end.


I want so many things, but what it boils down to is, am I willing to do the hard things NOW to reap the benefits LATER? There's a saying that goes "Easy choice, hard life; Hard choice, easy life." To me, that screams intentionally choosing the hard things early in life leads to rewards later on. So yes, it takes intentionality at an emotional, spiritual, and physical level.


Am I asking you to deprive yourself of joy and fun at a young age? No - and I hope you that and you never do. There are many things to do and enjoy in this world that do not require money or excess consumption. It's about the understanding value of the things we consume. The ultimate value proposition in our lives can be thought of as this: do we value immediate gratification more than what delayed gratification has to offer? It's a very loaded question, I know. For me, it can mean that we should live intentionally while occasionally making hard choices but still enjoy all life has to offer, we might just have to take our time getting there (note to self: patience is key). Just a quick example... Instead of eating out multiple times a week, I prefer to cook at home, save money for 3 or 4 months, and go on a trip with my loved ones. Do that over and over until good habits form and you've got yourself a winning strategy!


Besides, our ultimate goal should be the reward of Heaven. Let's not ever forget that we can't take the money or the things we've bought with us when we pass away. So yes, let's find the balance so we can live fruitful lives; lives that will get us and our loved ones to Heaven. I want us all to live good lives with purpose, and sometimes that means sacrificing our earthly pleasures for the promise of Heaven. We plan to explore this more in the future! Hope to write more for you soon!


Intentionally yours,

Mr. K

bottom of page