top of page

Why Faith and FI

I've had this nagging feeling for some time now that "I'm meant to do more" and I'm convinced you are too. This is just one way I'm looking to scratch that itch. If you're interested in what that means, please join us on this journey. With Faith and FI, we're working to be just a little better each day, in both our spiritual lives as well as our personal lives. Alongside me, I've got my partner in crime, Ms. C., who will be the other main contributor to this blog. We're so excited for you to be here.


So why Faith and Financial Independence? We want to positively affect change in the Catholic Church. That's the bottom line. Even though we're Catholics, I reject the idea that this blog is exclusive to Catholics. In fact, I welcome everyone to read and open their minds to all the topics we will be presenting. I invite you to join our community, send us your comments, and tell us what you'd like our next topic to be. We're here to explore how Financial Independence can set the groundwork for incredible ministry. We're looking to discuss topics like being financially stable for the sake of your marriage and family, traveling the world on very little, retiring with purpose to pursue other passions, and everything in between. With all these posts, we will try to keep our ministry at the forefront of our minds. We're going to talk about tough subjects and we want your thoughts as much as possible. We want to have those conversations with our community. If those things interest you at all, then by all means, please keep reading!


So what exactly is Financial Independence? To me, it's the pursuit of "the freedom to choose." It has less to do with retiring early and more with peace of mind and doing what you want within your means. It's living intentionally with what you have and enjoying the journey. Some might think that it equates to making a lot of money, but to me, it's about making a living what you have. I choose to live simply by minimizing expenses, save what I need by sacrificing the things I don't need, and give back where I can. And yes, I want to give money, but more importantly, I want to give time. I want to give my loved ones the time they deserve. To do that, I want to pursue Financial Independence so I won't have to worry about money. I can focus on quality time with the ones I care about most. I know the trade-off will be well worth it. As Christians, we are called to focus on family life. All too often, I see and hear that to provide for a family, the head of the household (be it woman or man) pursues money with good intentions, but loses sight of the end goal and family eventually comes second because they get caught up in the grind that is life. My message to them is this - make enough money to live within your means, save the rest (or give back), and focus on spending time with your family. You won't regret it.


Here's the thing... I know we're not the first ones to write about these topics, but I hope our perspective gives you what you need to improve the things you're doing. Maybe you'll find something here you couldn't find anywhere else. Maybe you'll try something because of a call to action on this blog and your life is a little more joyful because of it. Either way, we want to take small steps in helping people live better lives. If it means helping only one person, then so be it! That's better than nothing, I say!


While both of us have a lot to say about both topics of Faith and FI, Ms. C will be the main writer for Faith and I will be your guy for FI. With two degrees in Theology, she's well equipped to be your guiding light on your spiritual journey, like she has been for me. My credentials, you ask? I'm just your regular Joe Schmo learning alongside you, which hopefully makes it even more relatable! We've got a lot of great ideas, and we fully intend to give back as much as possible. Let us bring you content that you can relate to, that feeds both your spirit and your mind, and empowers you to take action.


Cheers,

-Mr. K


P.S. Happy All Saints' Day!

St. Joseph the Worker, pray for us!



bottom of page